Skip to content

The Way We See It

March 19, 2010
tags:

The Tanya Way

My first boyfriend in highschool was a bit of a player. We spent the first few weeks making out (as you do at 16) and then he told me he didn’t want a “relationship” so we became friends. But he continued to pursue me and we sort of occassionally blurred the lines between friendship and relationship. We are still good friends to this day.

Then I had an actual relationship with a very nice and loyal guy who was completely boring. Despite this we were together for 2 years, but having finished highschool I became increasingly restless and broke it off.

This is when I had my first “real” experience dating. In highschool, things were different. Out in the big bad world I was faced, for the first time, with all the usual obstacles that form part of the dating game. The first guy I dated taught me a lot even though the encounter was relatively inconsequential. He was the first guy to really reject me and do all those things guys are famous for doing, like not calling, blowing off dates etc etc etc. This was all a big shock to me but after that, I became a serial dater. I gave up on relationships for a while and just dated casually. In doing this, I learned that, like all games, dating and courting involved certain rules, and playing by these rules can ensure success.

And that’s how I became a “Rules Girl”.

Fast forward to the present and I have ended another long-term serious relationship last year and am now fully immersed back in the dating game. I am re-learning everything I learned back in my early twenties and then some. I am mastering the game and will not be defeated.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 11:40 pm

    Hey, I’m looking forward to reading more of this in the weeks to come. Good luck.
    *Plentymorefishoutofwater – One Man’s Dating Diary*

Leave a Reply

